3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Recurve versus Longbow  (Read 555 times)

Offline Enumclawarcher

• Trad Bowhunter
Recurve versus Longbow
« on: February 11, 2011, 09:00:00 PM »
Hellow guys, this is my first time here so be gentle. I am a long time compound shooter looking to transition to traditional archery and was looking for a new forum that more closely fits my new passion. So here I am. Although I have many questions my first would be what are the differences I should look at when deciding between a long bow and a recurve. My primary activities with the bow will be recreational target/3-D.
Thanks,  :archer2:

Offline **DONOTDELETE**

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Recurve versus Longbow
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 09:08:00 PM »
A recurve will be the closet to a compound (Handle) 45-50 draw weight at Your draw length. A good T/D will be a good bet because You can get lighter or heavier limbs as Your form gets better You can up the draw weight.

Look in the Classifieds and try and look for IFL bow. This will help in getting different weight limbs for it.

Offline eflanders

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 09:26:00 PM »
mysticguido's advice is sound.  I may the switch awhile back and followed that advice.  My one other comment would be is that if possible, go to a traditional show and shoot as many different bows you can.  Each bow even from the same maker will feel different but even more so than when comparing compounds.  Different wood combinations used, different grip styles and other things really stand out with the traditional stuff vs. the mass produced compounds.

Offline cyred4d

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 09:49:00 PM »