3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow Footings  (Read 653 times)

Offline 30pointbuck

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow Footings
« on: February 13, 2011, 12:34:00 AM »
I here alot of talk about arrow footings. Please excuse the dumb question but just what is a footing and what does it do. Don't bash me to hard guy's im just learning my way around traditional archery and trying to take in all the info. i can.
Dale

IF YOU DON'T STAND BEHIND OUR TROOPS, FEEL FREE TO STAND IN FRONT OF THEM.

Online boznarras

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow Footings
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 03:26:00 AM »
In carbon arrows, the term describes gluing a short piece, say an inch, of aluminum arrow shaft over the forward end of your arrow. It makes it stronger for impact,& helps keep the insert from crushing the carbon shaft when you hit something hard. Some put another smaller piece back by the nock of the arrow also. Makes for a very durable arrow, especially useful for surviving shooting stumps, rocks, etc.
If you do a search on this here, you will get a lot of info on how to do it and what you need for your arrows.  There is a chart for what aluminum shaft fits over what carbon arrow.

In wood arrows it describes using a different heavier wood for the front part of the shaft, spliced to the lighter back part of the shaft.

Offline ishoot4thrills

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2011, 06:07:00 AM »
Here's an aluminum footing(Easton Legacy 2020) installed onto a Beman MFX 500 Classic arrow:

58" JK Traditions Kanati Longbow
Ten Strand D10 String
Kanati Bow Quiver
35/55 Gold Tip Pink Nugents @ 30"
3 X 5" Feathers
19.9% FOC
49# @ 26.75"
165 FPS @ 10.4 GPP (510 gr. hunting arrow)
171 FPS @ 9.7 GPP (475 gr. 3D arrow)
3 Fingers Under

Offline hardwaymike