3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Turkey Anatomy and Shot Placement  (Read 1439 times)

Offline Guru

• Trad Bowhunter
Turkey Anatomy and Shot Placement
« on: February 26, 2011, 07:57:00 AM »
Been meaning to do this for a while, and since the seasons will be here before we know it, now is a great time to share some pix and personal experiences.

I'm no expert turkey hunter and certainly not a turkey biologist. But I have been chasing them for a while, and I pay attention and notice the details.

That being said, I'd just like to share some of what I've learned and hopefully help some others along the way.

I have a couple hunts, the shots, and the results to share through text and pictures.

A couple basics with turkeys...

- unlike deer and other four legged critters we persue, and turkey's vitals are at the top of their body, just under and right up against the backbone.

- it's about impossible to hit a turkey "too high", as you'll see in the pix to follow, everything that keeps a turkey alive is in the upper 1/3 of their body.

- like the boys from Double Bull used to say, "high they die, low they go".

- on a broadside bird, I aim to hit a gobbler just in front of the thigh and high. A little high and you sever the backbone, a bit forward and you hit the front of the vitals just behind the wingbutt. If it's a bit back, you shoot throught the thighs, a shot some archers prefer anyway. Just remember, higher is better and in some pix to follow, you clearly see why.

-a shot from the back gives you an even bigger target. A centered hit anywhere from the back of the skull to the base of the tail will almost always anchor the bird on the spot. Slightly off the spine either side still has a chance of punching vitals.