3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Tuning vs. Form  (Read 292 times)

Offline Hogcoots

• Trad Bowhunter
Tuning vs. Form
« on: February 26, 2011, 12:48:00 PM »
Just an observation from a guy relatively new to trad archery.  I have been shooting strictly traditional over the last year. I am no expert and continue to learn. I see alot of arrow/bow tuning threads looking for perfect flight, making the bow faster, getting the arrow to penetrate farther, etc. I am learning that for me shooting form has potentially more impact upon the above than all of the equipment tinkering that I have done.  For instance, today I got the chronograph out and simply played with my release. I could increase or decrease ft/sec by as much as 15 fps simply by tinkering with the release.  I also notice that with the same arrow, I can get nock left, nock right, arrow porpoising, and perfectly straight flight dependent upon anchor point, good release, dropping/torquing the bow hand, etc.

Just from my experience today, I am going to be less inclined to make equipment adjustments and spend more time on my form in pursuit of good arrow flight.

Offline Bowwild

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Tuning vs. Form
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2011, 12:54:00 PM »
Yep. When I shoot left, right, low or high the answer is usually something I need to do better next shot. The mind must stay on track.  

The bow and arrow are the easiest part of the accurate shooting equation.

Offline JimB

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 01:12:00 PM »