3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Howdy from Arkansas  (Read 525 times)

Offline abowhunr

• Trad Bowhunter
Howdy from Arkansas
« on: March 02, 2011, 11:04:00 AM »
Hello from Arkansas.  I am a long time archer and bowhunter, but have not shot a traditional bow since a teenager and I am now pushing 48.  I have been considering getting a recurve bow for a few years now and think that this year will be the year.  Any advice on what I should be looking to get is appreciated.  I have been looking through the classifieds and it is a bit overwhelming. I generally shoot my compounds around 65 pounds and have a 30 inch draw on those.  I definitely plan on hunting up to whitetails using it.

Offline BowMIke

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Howdy from Arkansas
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 11:10:00 AM »
I would recommend something in the 50 lb range to get reaquainted with Trad shooting. Anything higher and your form might suffer. Your draw will more likely be an inch shorter than with your compound. With a 29" draw you might need a 60 to 62 inch recurve to avoid stacking, although some bows handle longer draws better tan others withot stacking.
THe main thing is to get out and enjoy shooting. It is so much more fun shooting Trad!
Welcome to our Forum as well!

Offline Mudd

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2011, 11:15:00 AM »
Welcome to tradgang!

Our ranks continue to grow and you are another important member.

Thanks for joining up!

I hope you enjoy your journey along with the rest of us.

God bless,Mudd
Trying to make a difference
Psalm 37:4
Roy L "Mudd" Williams
TGMM- Family Of The Bow
Archery isn't something I do, it's who I am!
The road to "Sherwood" makes for an awesome journey.

Offline awbowman

• Trad Bowhunter