3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Some of the coolest things seem so simple  (Read 460 times)

Offline Lee Robinson .

• Trad Bowhunter
Some of the coolest things seem so simple
« on: March 29, 2011, 10:46:00 AM »
I thought about putting this topic in the "bowyer's bench" but chose not to because it was about making a bow with my son more so than how to make a bow. My son will be 5 years old on the 30th of this month...and I want him to have a bow made by "Daddy." I figured some other Dads could appreciate the post.

My son and I made a very light weight form with a very simple method that I have never used before...and I honestly think this is just a cool little light weight form. While I personally use a heavy duty high pressure 2 piece form on my Protege Longbows, the "rubber-band form" certainly is sufficient. I chose to use this simple form this kid's bow form since kid bows generally have less stresses in them (given their low pull weight and short draw).

The coolest thing about the rubber band system form is it is VERY SIMPLE. Being "one piece," it doesn't have to withstand heavy external forces acting upon it...as all stresses in the form are all internal in a rubber band form (counteracting one another) and the form itself doesn't need to be heavily reinforced in order to stay true. In this case, less materials meant simplier and less expensive construction.