3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Nevada Regs.  (Read 158 times)

Offline elksticker

• Trad Bowhunter
Nevada Regs.
« on: March 30, 2011, 08:33:00 PM »
Does any body understand the Nevada regs? I should have gotten my deer tag last year but did not.  A friend said they give them to the outfitters first.  Is that true?  Thanks

Offline Whip

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Nevada Regs.
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2011, 09:24:00 PM »
I'm not an expert on Nevada, but in a quick glance I don't see anything about outfitters receiving preference as is the case in some other states.  
Nevada has a bonus point program where having more points greatly increases (but never guarantees) the chance of drawing a tag.  They square your accumulated points, and the resulting number is the number of times your name goes in the hat.  For example, with three bonus points take 3x3= 9 bonus points, plus one for the current year means you had 10 chances to draw.  10 bonus points would be 10x10 = 100 + 1, or 101 chances to draw.  

The odds go up dramatically with more points, but nobody is guaranteed to draw a tag.  So a guy with no points has a chance, and if he is very lucky he might draw on the first try.  A guy with 10 points would have an extreme advantage, but if he is unlucky, he might sit at home again.
PBS Regular Member
WTA Life Member
In the end, it is not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years. Abraham Lincoln.

Offline helo

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2011, 09:31:00 PM »