3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Why do you shoot what you shoot?  (Read 713 times)

Offline paperenginner

• Trad Bowhunter
Why do you shoot what you shoot?
« on: April 03, 2011, 09:24:00 PM »
I have been shooting a recurve for a couple of years.  Last season was my first season without the wheels.  I would like to sell my current bow and upgrade to a nicer bow.  I really like the Striker bows but I am partial as I am only a few minutes away from Minster.  I have only shot a few recurves in my short past but the longbow interests me.  My question for everyone is why do you shoot either one?  I am looking for why you like what you shoot.  I am sure I can shoot either one before choosing but I am looking for shooting/hunting advantages.  The stuff that one doesn't get to understand until they shoot for a while.

Thanks.

Offline BowMIke

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Why do you shoot what you shoot?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2011, 09:32:00 PM »
Papa,
I like recurves, but have really transitioned to longbows the last year. They are very smooth and also quieter. The newer longbows hang right with the fast recurves. My favorites are the Morrison Shawnee with carbon/foam limbs and I also like my two Centaurs.
Try shooting a friends longbow. Every one has their own favorites and a longbow may become yours or you just may shoot recurves better. Whichever, enjoy yourself and have fun with Trad!

Offline 2 Barrels

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2011, 09:32:00 PM »
Recently i've started shooting metal riserd ILF bow's.I came to the realization that it's the only thing i can make fit me.Instead of me trying to fit the bow.I've also dropped a little weight.Due to some joint pain issues.