3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New to Archery and looking for how to get started  (Read 363 times)

Offline Firemandivi

• Trad Bowhunter
New to Archery and looking for how to get started
« on: April 05, 2011, 11:35:00 AM »
Hi everyone at TradGang, I’ve been lurking here for a few weeks and finally decided to join so I can get your advice.  

I’m completely new to archery not just traditional archery but archery in general, I haven’t shot a bow in 20 years and that was a cheap Service Merchandise bow (a store before the days of Walmart).  I’ve read the  http://www.tradgang.com/docs/newbies.html  page and have ordered two books “Shooting the Stickbow” and “Stalking and Still Hunting”.

I don’t have a traditional bow yet but plan on buying one soon, I just need to figure out which one.  I’m a big fan of “buy once cry once” so I don’t want to buy a bow that I will soon outgrow.  I plan on hunting white tail and turkey with it (never hunted before but that’s for a different post).  I’ve seen people recommend Mad Dog’s and Bear bows for newbies like myself, I’m looking for a single piece re-curve with a top end price being somewhere near the $500 range, a lower price would be welcomed but not required.  Please let me know what you guys recommend.  

I also see people recommend starting out with a light draw weight and working their way up.  I was thinking that because most of the bows I’ve looked at have their poundage set at a 28” draw if I should go up in poundage because my draw is more like 27”.  I was thinking of a 45lb bow, which for me would be closer to 42lbs or so I believe.  What do you guys think?

Thanks for the help guys.