3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Newbie poundage or weight question  (Read 385 times)

Offline rluttrell

• Trad Bowhunter
Newbie poundage or weight question
« on: April 06, 2011, 11:22:00 AM »
I am new to hunting; I have seen bows from 25 pounds to 75 pounds. What is good poundage for hunting deer or pigs or even elk? Is it different for tree stands vs. on foot? Does the size of the animal decided how much you should have?

Also can someone tell me the advantages to having a longer bow vs. a shorter one with the same weight?

Thank you
Hopefully you will see me as a better person today than I was yesterday..

Offline targets3D

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Newbie poundage or weight question
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2011, 11:33:00 AM »
I believe the legal minimum for hunting is 40#. I recommend starting there.

Longer bows tend to be more stable and provide less stacking. Shorter ones will maneuver better in a tree stand or blind
Thanks
K

Offline straitera

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 11:34:00 AM »
Too many variables to consider. Have you shot archery before? If so, what kind of bow at what draw weight? This entire site is directed towards a Hunting Priority. The archives are full of useful information. Just type in the search box whatever it is that concerns you & you'll find unlimited input. Myself & others herein will also assist with hopefully unbiased advice as well. PM or e-mail for more. Good luck
Buddy Bell

Trad is 60% mental & about 40% mental.

Offline woodcock

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 12:23:00 PM »