3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Dorado vs Buffalo????  (Read 613 times)

Offline snag

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Dorado vs Buffalo????
« on: April 09, 2011, 02:42:00 PM »
For you guys who shoot these types of bows can you enlighten me in the differences of these two models of Hoyts? Thanks, David
Isaiah 49:2...he made me a polished arrow and concealed me in his quiver.

Offline macksdad

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Dorado vs Buffalo????
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2011, 03:07:00 PM »
Snag I have been Shooting the Buffalo for about 3 months now and I just bought a Dorado off of Maineac and should have it by Tuesday. So I will let you know. The Buffalo has a bouble Radius shelf and the shelf is a little closer to your hand than Dorado shelf .  The Buffalo also has a differnt limb system.
Hoyt Buffalo   #45@28,#50@28, #55 @28, #60@28
Hill Country Wildcat 52#@28
Hill Country Wildcat Static #57@31
Rick Welch Accuracy Factory

Offline snag

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2011, 03:55:00 PM »
Sounds like the Buffalo might be more like a regular recurve or longbow...?

Offline reddogge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2011, 04:23:00 PM »
I've shot both but not side by side so it's hard to compare. The Dorado has a good deal of mass weight to the handle so it is real steady and the version I shot was 62" and 50#. The Buffalo had been retrofitted with Hoyt carbon ILF limbs so it also was a good shooter. The riser is smaller and the bow is 60".
Traditional Bowhunters of Maryland
Heart of Maryland Bowhunters
NRA
Mayberry Archers

Offline Zog

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2011, 08:22:00 PM »
You can use ILF limbs on the Buffalo?