3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New Longbow Purchase Suggestions  (Read 442 times)

Offline Caleb Andes

• Trad Bowhunter
New Longbow Purchase Suggestions
« on: April 21, 2011, 10:46:00 PM »
Alright guys I have been shooting my bear super kodiak for about two years now and I am 100% positive im addicted to trad. SO.. now its time for a longbow haha :-D I know absolutely nothing about longbow companys so if you guys would suggest some companies and model I would appreciate it.. I'm looking for something around 66" or less.. is that possible?
>>----> Lovin the mystical flight >>---->

Online rastaman

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: New Longbow Purchase Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2011, 11:18:00 PM »
Cari-bow, Montana Bows (Dan Toelke), Talltines, Stalker recurves (makes longbows now), Howard Hill, Black Widow, Centaur, Two Tracks Bow Company, Eaglewing archery,  A & H archery, Apex Predator, Big jim's Bow Company, JK Traditions (Kanata), Dryad Bows, Maddog archery, Zipper Bows, Stewart Archery....

these are only about half or so of the bowyers that sponsor this site...the others are just as good.  Try to go to one of the big shoots and shoot as many different models as possible..or if there is a traditional club in your area, join up and shoot some of the different bows.  Some of the bowyers will let you "try before you buy".  My biggest concern when i buy a new bow is the grip.  i know what kind of grip i shoot best, so if i get a new bow, i send a copy of the grip or a xeroxed copy of my hand and a tracing with a description of the grip i want.  There are a number of used bows on the classified here on this site & right now it is a buyers market for used custom bows.