3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Broken string discussion  (Read 614 times)

Offline last arrow

• Trad Bowhunter
Broken string discussion
« on: April 28, 2011, 11:00:00 AM »
Breaking a bow string while shooting last night got me to thinking.

I have been shooting recurve bows since about 1970.  Over that time I have had about 10 strings break while shooting.  I have also witnessed about 10 other peoples strings breaking. None of these incidents have resulted in damaged bows (just damaged nerves).  I am talking fiberglass laminated traditional bows.

I learned to make 3 bundle flemish strings in the mid 80's and have used my own strings since.  The old timer that taught me was adamant that the string be sized appropriately for the draw weight of the bow, i.e. number of strands be reduced or increased appropriately.  He believed that the string should act like a shear pin and break in the case of an accidental dry fire to protect the bow.

As I see a lot of worries on this site that if a string breaks while shooting you may damage your bow, I am wondering if I have been lucky with broken strings or whether other peoples experiences have been similar to mine.