3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Quiver preference  (Read 574 times)

Offline Rusty Snuffers

• Trad Bowhunter
Quiver preference
« on: April 28, 2011, 06:04:00 PM »
First, hello Trad Gang!

I've been shooting a Martin Hunter 55# off and on for the last 12 years, but consider myself a total novice.  In the last two years, I've been shooting as often as I find or make time and I'm really enjoying the sport more and more as I improve my shot.  I've taken a few hogs and a deer in the last two seasons with the bow and hope to do much more bowhunting this coming season and future seasons.  (My freezer has benefitted much more from the Remington and Winchester)    :rolleyes:

The Hunter has a slide-on Martin recurve quiver, which has worked out well enough but I thought I'd get some opinions on what others like to use.  I ordered a Samick TD and I'm thinking I might try something different this year with the new bow.  I know that a bow quiver can sometimes help to quiet the bow and help with vibration but it does add a bit of weight to the bow.  I haven't tried a hip quiver as I'm concerned I'll end up making noise in the woods with this thing "flapping around on my hip."  Back quivers don't seem as they'd provide ease of access (though again, I haven't tried them either).

Just thought I'd post a thread and ask what others prefer and why.  Thanks in advance for any info/opinion you provide.

Rusty
Black Widow PSA V 48# @27"
Samick Deermaster T/D 50# @28"
Dale Dye Good Medicine 50# @27"
"All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost."  JRR Tolkien

Offline jimmerc

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Quiver preference
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2011, 06:43:00 PM »