3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow Flight Issues  (Read 186 times)

Offline JLeMieux

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow Flight Issues
« on: May 02, 2011, 03:16:00 AM »
I am still fairly new to traditional archery but have gotten pretty consistent with my 50# Martin Hunter. I recently picked up a used Jeffery Royal Hunter TD from another Tradganger. I'm having issues with nock high arrow flight with bare shafts and can't seem to figure it out. I've spent hours searching past threads but still have questions. Here are the specs and what I've done so far:

The bow is 51# @ 28 and I draw 29. Arrows are 29 5/8" Gamegetter 400s with 145gr tips but haven't got to the point of tuning spine.I normally shoot 3 under, but after moving the nock point from 1/4-over an inch, I switched to split with the same results. I thought maybe my nocks were too tight and filed them down considerably but no luck. Brace height is centered within the recommended limits (after a call to Jeffery). I measured the tiller this evening and got 8 1/2" on the top limb and 8" on the bottom (measured at each end of the riser). From what I've read this seems a little more than normal unless I'm mistaken. Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Tried videoing the shot but camera isn't good enough to clearly capture the arrow flight. Going to switch back to 3 under since that's what I'm comfortable with and slowly move the nock down from 1 1/4". I've done this already but not since filing the nocks down.
Acadian Woods TD Recurve 58 @ 28
Acadian Woods Recurve 55 @ 28
Acadian Woods Tree Stick 60 @ 27
Acadian Woods Tree Stick 47 @ 28
Martin Hunter Recurve 50 @ 28

Offline Zradix

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow Flight Issues
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 04:06:00 AM »