3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: what about tabs  (Read 266 times)

Offline JamesKerr

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
what about tabs
« on: May 03, 2011, 03:11:00 PM »
I have been shooting for a few years and have shot gloves all this time. I have however found none that fit me right or they do not have the correct feel for me. I tend to anchor deeply into my jaw and most gloves tend to be rough on that part of my face. will a tab make this better and can a tab still offer the protection of a cordovan leather glove.
James Kerr

Offline Over&Under

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: what about tabs
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 03:16:00 PM »
James

I had the very same experience with gloves...wouldn't fit right, not a good feel on the anchor, and rough on the face.

I went to a Bateman cordovan tab and it solved all those problems, with equal protection.
“Elk (add hogs to the list) are not hard to hit....they're just easy to miss"          :)
TGMM

Offline JamesKerr

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 03:27:00 PM »
Did you get one with or without the finger spacer as I tend to have a lot of pinch as well
James Kerr

Offline YORNOC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 03:48:00 PM »
Jim, what length bow do you shoot?  You shouldn't have to deal with finger pinch. I prefer a tab in its simplest form and as thin as I can stand it. Once used to this, I can feel EVERYTHING and am much more confident in my release.  
Over&Under has good advice. Cordovan leather makes for a fantastic tab.
David M. Conroy

Offline Over&Under

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2011, 03:50:00 PM »
Originally posted by JamesKerr: