3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow-WOES  (Read 484 times)

Offline btjohnson

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow-WOES
« on: May 15, 2011, 09:52:00 PM »
I just started shooting a recurve and have never shot a compound so I am new to archery.  I have an older recurve that is rated for 40# @ 28"  My draw is about 31" so I don't know what the # is at that draw length. The shop that sold me the string also sold me some arrows.  They are CE Heritage 250 with 145 grain field tips and they are full length. I shot them at their indoor range and they worked well, the range being about 10yrds I think.

I then shot them in my back yard for the last couple of weeks at about 10yds and they did fine.  Today I went to my local conservation area and shot 30 stations on their field archery course.  What a disaster!  I am a new shooter so I'm not complaining about my lack of skill but I'm wondering if what I experienced with my arrows is normal.

Beyond 15yds the arrows we always WAY low.  I suspect they 145 grain field points are just too heavy?  I also had some really cheapo "Cajun" arrows with glue on knocks and points and I shot those so much better than the CE's.  Why?   The nocks on 4 of the CE's flew off in flight. Is that normal?  I asked the guy at the shop and he said that nocks are not glued in.  Is that right?  I  also shattered 2 shafts when they hit the metal part of the target (to be expected) but wow that's expensive.  So I started with 6 CE and now have 0 usable arrows.