3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Scouting and area selection  (Read 235 times)

Offline Instinctive1

• Trad Bowhunter
Scouting and area selection
« on: May 16, 2011, 02:42:00 PM »
Greetings to all,

I'm very new. I've been shooting traditional archery for two years now and am preparing to hunt deer this august. I live in northern California, 5 hours north of San Francisco, we have lots of public land here. Im a little bewildered about the amount of choices I have. I've been out scouting and I've found places with lots of deer, trails and scat. I've been focusing on areas where oak woodlands meet coniferous forest with a stream thrown in. I don't know how much archery pressure these areas see come archery season, but I think they get fairly hammered during general season which follows archery. What are some criteria you would choose in selecting woods to hunt? I want to focus in on a place and really get to know it, with all of the choices, how do you decide? Also, when scouting, how much of the behavior one observes will change over the next 3 months?
Thanks to those that take time to read this and happy hunting.
55# Martin Mamba
45# Ben Pearson Hunter II

Offline Stinger

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Scouting and area selection
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 04:23:00 PM »