3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: While we are discussing hunting arrows...  (Read 450 times)

Offline awbowman

• Trad Bowhunter
While we are discussing hunting arrows...
« on: May 17, 2011, 09:41:00 AM »
Didn't want to hyjack the previous thread of ssoden, but I love hearing what some of you guys have to say on real life hunting performance of arrows.  I love to 3d shoot, but when it comes to loosing an arrow at an animal I get REAL serious about arrow performance.  I am fairly new to traditional bow hunting, but have shot a compound for a while longer and I THINK I have come to realize some very important issues between the two.

I once read an article and can't really tell you where I read it or who wrote it, but it has stuck in my mind ever sense.  The article was on arrow performance and the point of the article was that "with at least a three blade, THE ARROW WOULD CUT THE MUSCLE across its grain and have a better chance of the wound staying open and bleeding better".  I thought it a great concept (based on my compuond performance) to sacrifice that slight amount of penetration for a "star" shaped cut.  

What say you Mr. Rob and other gurus  ....  is it better to cause the entrance wound to remain open, or get a complete pass through?  No arguing please, just your thoughts and why.
62" Super D, 47#s @ 25-1/2"
58" TS Mag, 53#s @ 26"
56" Bighorn, 46#s @ 26.5"

Offline Jim now in Kentucky

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: While we are discussing hunting arrows...
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2011, 09:51:00 AM »
Most fatal arrow wounds are through the lungs, which have no grain orientation. Issue is just a specious point to write an article about.