3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: best plan of action for BIG logs?  (Read 411 times)

Offline brent d.

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
best plan of action for BIG logs?
« on: June 25, 2007, 11:16:00 AM »
My brother-in-law is a logger and tree clearer and I have been on him for a while to keep his eyes open for good bow wood. Well my patience has finally paid off. My question is, The trees that he has felled are BIG. Are they are too big? We are talking 16" to 24" in diameter. Can they be hand split without having a heart attack?  I have some experience in splitting trees but they were much smaller.I have a brand new maul and 8 wedges. The logs are as follows: (2) 18-22" honey locust, (2) 20" hickory, (1) 16" mulberry,
(2)18" black walnut.
I am not really sure how expensive it would be to have them sawn into board lumber, but I hoped that some of the "WOOD GURU'S" might know how to deal with these behemoths.
thanks a lot.
Brent Driggers
TGMM Brotherhood of the Bow

Offline 4runr

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: best plan of action for BIG logs?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2007, 11:24:00 AM »
You got your work cut out for you there. I've split Osage in 6" and 10", but what you have there is MAN'S work. I have a guy with a portable bandsaw mill I think he gets $.30 per board foot to cut. Personally I wouldn't tackle logs as big as you have there. Maybe the 16" Mulberry.
Kenny

Christ died to save me, this I read
and in my heart I find a need
of Him to be my Savior
          By Aaron Shuste

TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline JIM B

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2007, 11:42:00 AM »
i use a chainsaw on stuff that big, quartered out they would be more managable. still a lot of work.

Offline brent d.

• TGMM Member