3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What am I doing wrong?  (Read 308 times)

Offline Llamma1

• Trad Bowhunter
What am I doing wrong?
« on: May 28, 2011, 10:18:00 PM »
I just started shooting my longbow today and the string keeps slapping just above my wrist. What can I do to reduce this? I am new to tradit   http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h376/llamma2/018.jpg[/IMG]]web     ional shooting and any help would be much appreciated.    :pray:
Now then, get your equipment—your quiver and bow—and go out to the open country to hunt some wild game for me.

Offline JohnnyWayne

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2011, 10:22:00 PM »
What kind of longbow? Can you please post the specs on it  ;)
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.
-The Way of Kings

>>>---TGMM Family of the Bow--->

Offline Mike Vines

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2011, 10:22:00 PM »
wear an arm guard, and if that doesn't work for you (still don't like the slap), try turing your hand out a little to move your wrist away from the string a little till you find out the sweet spot for you.  Try tinkering with your brace height also.
Professional Bowhunters Society Regular Member

U.S. ARMY Military Police

Michigan Longbow Association Life Member/Past President

Offline mrpenguin

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2011, 10:24:00 PM »
Your brace height may be too low. Check the manufacture recommendation, start at the highest brace height and reduce until you have good arrow flight and accuracy. Either that or your bow arm is too straight or locked at the elbow. You Should have a slight bend at the elbow yet have a straight line of force/support from your shoulder to the grip.