3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Is this a problem?  (Read 1050 times)

Offline krink

• Trad Bowhunter
Is this a problem?
« on: June 21, 2011, 09:07:00 PM »
I have snapped a string and came close to snapping another one in about 3 days.  The first string that snapped was older but when I inspected it when I first received the bow it looked to be in fine condition.  It snapped at the loop where the twists come together.  It was on the top nock at the time.  The second string that was frayed badly, but not snapped, was made by me.  I am not a pro but it was made well enough not to break.  It frayed at the same point that the first string broke at.  Both were D50 string 12 strand.  I only shot 10 or so arrows out of the first string and less than 50 from the second.

I began looking over the nocks to see if there were sharp edges.  There wasn't anything note worthy.  I did a search and most posts said sharp edges.  One post did catch my eye though.  It stated that breakage around the loop can be caused by too light of arrows, basically dry firing my bow.  I do not know the exact weight that I am pulling (will find out soon though) but my arrows are 410gns +- 3.  If I were to guess how much I am pulling I would say form 50-55lbs.

So after making another string and taping myself I discovered this happening on my bow.  Not sure if this is a helper in diagnosing the problem but it never hurts.

The first two images go together.  The first is at anchor and the second is 1 frame after release.  I notice the lower limb moving quite a bit more than the top.  I am shooting 3 under.