3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Turkey Hunting Shot Recommendations  (Read 8552 times)

Offline SoftPoint

• Trad Bowhunter
Turkey Hunting Shot Recommendations
« on: February 08, 2006, 10:06:00 PM »
Ok guys and gals, I sucessfully hunted turkeys the easy way(shotgun). Now I want to do it seriously with my stick. I did have a shot with my stick last year, it was a broadside shot, and you know what happened... the arrow deflected off his built in armor. So what are the only shots to take on a turkey. I hear that the backside while strutting is the only real shot. Is this true?
-Stix

Offline el cazador

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Turkey Hunting Shot Recommendations
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2006, 10:26:00 AM »
I have no personal experience in this department, but I've heard the same thing.  Check this link out for testimony of how it works.

http://discussions.texasbowhunter.com/discus/messages/3558/343044.html?1137373771

Offline George D. Stout

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2006, 11:11:00 AM »
That looks like Charlie Daniels!

Offline Biggie Hoffman

• SRBZ
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2006, 11:38:00 AM »
I think you were doing it the right way....a load of number 4's works best for me :-)

Anything with feathers was made for a shotgun..you can quote me on that
PBS Life Member
Member 1K LLC

"If you are twenty and aren't liberal you don't have a heart...if you're forty and not conservative you don't have a brain".....Winston Churchill

Offline mike g

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2006, 11:45:00 AM »
Head shot....
"TGMM Family of the Bow"

Offline Shaun

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2006, 11:55:00 AM »