3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: 3/8" wooden dowels for ARROWS?  (Read 398 times)

Offline Mainehunt

• Trad Bowhunter
3/8" wooden dowels for ARROWS?
« on: June 30, 2011, 11:15:00 PM »
I am new to trad bows/arrows. So please bear with me.

I bought some 3/8" diameter POPLAR and OAK dowels to make some arrows. I was very careful when choosing and made sure that the ones I chose have the grain running the complete length of the shaft.

My bow is a 45# @ 28", (I draw to 29")

I just fletched up one of the poplar shafts, I cut a self nock which I reinforced with thread wrap and glue. I made a blunt out of a 44 mag brass.

My question is; Is 3/8" strong enough/stiff enough for around 48 pound long bow?

Anybody use this diameter?

Kev
<><

Offline Hot Hap

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: 3/8" wooden dowels for ARROWS?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 11:19:00 PM »
I think you are way over spined for a 45# bow. Hap

Offline Mainehunt

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2011, 11:21:00 PM »
Originally posted by Hot Hap:
I think you are way over spined for a 45# bow. Hap
Really? Because as I flex the shaft with my hands and then flex a carbon shaft, it feels weak. (BUT like I said, I know NOTHING about wooden shafts)

I am nervous about breaking a shaft when shooting.

Kev
<><

Offline Mainehunt

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2011, 07:52:00 AM »
Anyone else?

Offline Green

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2011, 07:57:00 AM »