3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Purist Insanity  (Read 288 times)

Offline Chromebuck

• Trad Bowhunter
Purist Insanity
« on: July 01, 2011, 07:13:00 PM »
My background is predominately fishing and in 2005 I brought an artisan reel to market for fishing steelhead called the Mykiss(latin for rainbow trout)back in Michigan.  My experience with individuals that would spend $400.00 on a fishing reel was far and beyond enough to deter me from doing a second run.  A very esoteric and discerning crowd for sure (Hope this introduction doesn't break the rules).

Six years later where do I land?  In the simple world of stick and string.  So I thought!  How could something as simple as this be so involved that an average lifespan does not seem enough?

Where I'm going with this?  I'm not sure. Just trying to understand the playing field that's before me/us. I want to understand more about the degrees of seperation in traditional archery.  Or the categories, if you will.  My thoughts are varied.

My first inclination is to think Ishi to Qarbon Nano...A past to present historical approach where the schools of thought (or genres) are the milestones in technology between the begining and the present???

A neophytes ramblings...

-Primitive (selfbows, sinew backed)
-String follow D shape bows (pre-glass)
-Recurves (pre-glass)
-Phenalics/laminates
-Reflex Deflex LB
-3 piece bows
-Glass foam
-Carbon foam

On and on and on...

Can anyone add perspective?

~CB
62" JD Berry Taipan 53@28
60" Super Shrew 2pc 53@28
58" Ed Scott Owl Bow 53@28

Offline Ragnarok Forge

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Purist Insanity
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 07:17:00 PM »