3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Loc-On loc on Stands  (Read 303 times)

Offline Hoyt

• Trad Bowhunter
Loc-On loc on Stands
« on: July 08, 2011, 05:27:00 PM »
I'm looking to buy either a Spirit, Limit or Windwalker Loc On stand. I've had a Super Spirit before and really liked it, but want to go as light as I can and still have a stand with room enough to at least be able to maneuver around for shots, etc.

Weight wise Windwalker 7-3/4lbs, 17"x20" Limit 8lbs, 17"x26" and regular Spirit ll.lbs, 19"x28" with rope attachment which I've never used (used chain before).

Anybody with any personal experience with any of these stand I would appreciate advice.

Thanks,
Hoyt

Offline VTer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Loc-On loc on Stands
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2011, 05:51:00 PM »
I think the Loc-On spirit is the best stand ever made for all around use. Light enough to carry as far as you need too. I also have a windwalker when I really want to get out there or I'm combining scouting w/ hunting. I'm a big guy, 250ish so I'm maxing that one out I think but I've never felt like it wasn't strong enough. Too small to be comfortable for a long time. I miss the days when I used screw in steps. A spirit and 10 steps were a pretty awesome light weight setup.
Schafer Silvertip 66#-"In memory", Green Mountain Longbow 60#, Hill Country Harvest Master TD 59#

"Some of the world's greatest feats were accomplished by people not smart enough to know they were impossible."
    - Doug Lawson.

Offline Bowmania

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2011, 05:59:00 PM »