3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: exactly what is finger pinch?  (Read 196 times)

Offline Aaron2k5

• Trad Bowhunter
exactly what is finger pinch?
« on: July 10, 2011, 02:41:00 AM »
I've been shooting a 62 inch howatt hunter for 2 months now.  55@ 28  with a 29 1/2 inch draw. My lower shooting finger is pretty much permanently numb now. Is this from finger pinch? Do I need a different bow? It won't heal and its just now starting to effect me. What do I do?

Offline Ragnarok Forge

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: exactly what is finger pinch?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2011, 03:06:00 AM »
You are pulling with most of the force on your lowest finger. Switch to two finger shooting and keep the tension 80% on the finger under the nock and 20% on the other finger.  I had the same problem and this fixed it.
Clay Walker
Skill is not born into anyone.  It is earned thru hard work and perseverance.

Offline jhg

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2011, 08:53:00 AM »
Agreed. Its not finger pinch caused by the Howatt. I owned two and they are very nice bows to shoot. My draw is 30". Is your elbow high at full draw?

Joshua
Learn, practice and pass on "leave no trace" ethics, no matter where you hunt.

Offline YORNOC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2011, 08:56:00 AM »
What these guys said....not the bow, its your form. You shooting a glove, tab, ?
David M. Conroy

Offline Javi

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2011, 08:58:00 AM »
Have someone take a photo from the side while you are at full draw. I suspect your anchor is higher than your bow hand and you are pulling up on the string..
Mike "Javi" Cooper
TBoT Member

Offline Night Wing

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2011, 09:16:00 AM »