3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Can I hear from the 10gpp crowd?  (Read 545 times)

Offline Pokerdaddy

• Trad Bowhunter
Can I hear from the 10gpp crowd?
« on: July 29, 2011, 11:51:00 PM »
Anyone here have a hunting setup that is still at roughly 10gpp?  Everything I'm reading points to TG'ers going heavy.  I'm aware of the benefits of heavy, but is there still hope for those of us in the 10gpp neighborhood?  Oh, for Michigan whitetail I should point out.

I've been tuning up the new to me Great Northern Fireball.  42# @ my 28.  I know, light bow, but I'm a newbie and keeping my bows light for the time being.

I'm shooting full length Gold Tip Traditional 3555's.  These GT's are full length as they are my first self-fletched batch, and I don't own an appropriate saw.  I figured I'd make due with full lengthers (at this point) rather than shorten and add weight.

So I'm at 425gr overall for 42#.  I've got 125g Woodsman up front.  

Anyone think I NEED to cut these down and add weight, or go ahead with my setup with confidence?
Michigan Longbow Association
Michigan Traditional Bowhunters
Michigan Bowhunters
Compton Traditional Bowhunters
US Army 1992-94

Offline mrjsl

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Can I hear from the 10gpp crowd?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 12:06:00 AM »
My arrows are around 12 gpp, but I just ordered some lighter that I expect will end up at around 9.5 gpp.

The heavier ones shoot fine, just want to see if I can make a faster yet still forgiving arrow. A little extra speed really helps my accuracy at 30+ yards.

My bow is pretty conservative - B50 string, stable and quiet. 59#

Offline TxAg

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2011, 12:21:00 AM »