3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What a difference a grip makes!  (Read 262 times)

Offline LimBender

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
What a difference a grip makes!
« on: July 31, 2011, 12:43:00 AM »
Well, well, seems like people around here know what they're talking about.   :D  

Haven't been at this long, but have worked pretty hard, read some books, and made progress.  Lately it's been a battle and I was almost going backwards.  The bow I've been shooting for 8 months I never liked the grip from day one.  It just didn't fit and I kept trying to make it consistent.  It has never been comfortable and neither has my shooting.

So, waiting on one of Bill's fancy creations, I was looking for something old and fun to shoot or something I could maybe share with my brother, and Blackhawk offers for sale a 1967 58" 48@28 Kodiak Hunter (green glass).  Got it this afternoon (thanks Lon for the great condition, shipping, and string), and I AM DANG WELL BLOWN AWAY.  

I shot better in the near dark, without fiddling with bh, arrows, nock, or practicing, than I have just about ever shot in a hundred sessions with my R&D longbow.  I tried fast, slow, cant, no cant, and different positions, and the arrow just felt like it was seeking the center of the target. Oh, and for a 45 year old bow, it thumps the target.

I know my form needs work, but this really showed me what a difference a grip can make.  This grip is agressive (high wrist? and may be uncomfortable to some), but it absolutely forces consistency.

Know it's a long post, but this has got me seeing bloodtrails instead of doubt.  I can tell I'm gonna have a lot of fun with this bow.  My last group of the night:

>>>---TGMM Family of the Bow--->

Shoot some Zippers and a Bear.

Offline Gen273