3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: DIY elk hunting- how to get started  (Read 2298 times)

Offline Autumnarcher

• Trad Bowhunter
DIY elk hunting- how to get started
« on: August 02, 2011, 10:50:00 AM »
it may not be any big surprise, that when I started hunting elk, I was instantly addicted.
I've done drop camps, and semi- guided hunts, but by and large I'm a DIY kinda guy. Why pay for something I can surely do myself?

Now lets be clear, Im no expert, and will readily admit I can always learn more from others far more knowlegable than I.

AS I began prparation for this years adventure, I hada lot of work do do. I read every elk thread I can get to, here on TG and other forums. One thing I see in every forum is guys who are first timers asking how to get started, and seeking advice. I'm right there among them.

SO I thought I'd put up a  thread sharing what works for me, and how I tackled the process of outfitting myself for now and the future for DIY elk hunting.

So here I go. By all means, others should feel free to add to the discussion. Like I said, Im no expert, but thought I could share a little of what I've learned.
...stood alone on a montaintop, starin out at a great divide, I could go east, I could go West, it was all up to me to decide, just then I saw a young hawk flyin and my soul began to rise......

Offline awbowman

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: DIY elk hunting- how to get started
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 10:56:00 AM »
I'll be watching this closely.  Flatlander heading for elk for the first time this year.  I think I will

1)  go deep if I can, don't know how this flatlander will really perform at 10,500'

2)  call very sparingly, probably no bugling

3)  scope out wallows if it's hot