3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Oregon Deer Season?  (Read 319 times)

Offline Sarah

• Trad Bowhunter
Oregon Deer Season?
« on: August 09, 2011, 11:12:00 PM »
Hi Everyone,
I realize that I may be posting this in the wrong place, but I thought there was a better chance that someone would respond here rather than in the Oregon forum.

I'm a recent transplant to Oregon, moved here in January 2011. I am a resident of OR.

I'm coming from Pennsylvania, where I passed a State-mandated Hunter-Trapper Education course. I hunted for one season in PA (I had only practiced archery for around 4 months at the time and managed to bag a squirrel - some of you will remember - quite a feat at the time!).

I've been practicing and now I'd like to go for a deer here in Oregon. I live on property where I can hunt, and we tend to get a lot of Black-tailed does coming around.

So, I've been reading through the OR Game laws and I'm completely baffled. I don't understand how to read the seasons or interpret the regulations for my region (I live outside of Grants Pass, OR). I feel completely confused and would love it is someone from the State would help me out - I didn't grow up in a hunting family and have learned everything so far from scratch.

Some immediate questions that I have about my predicament:

- When can I hunt deer in my region?
- What are the differences in regulations between antlered and antler-less permits?
-What is the permitting process? Do I need to pass another Hunter's Ed. course here or will my PA one do?
- What tags are required for (1) hunting (2) archery (3) antler-less hunting?
- What are other regs I should know about? Are they different for private property?
- Are there any weight minimums for bow poundage?