3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: SHOULD I CUT MY ARROWS  (Read 232 times)

Offline wildcat hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
SHOULD I CUT MY ARROWS
« on: August 10, 2011, 02:06:00 PM »
For the 1st time in my life I ordered and  just got 12 new Easton arrows, 500's, 32" long. I shoot 30", I tried one with a 100 gr point, in my 2 Herters bows and it shot perfectly in both bows, one 37# the other 45#. Should I cut them to 30" or let them at 32". I don't want to mess up the spine because they shoot good the way they are. I'm new at this and don't want to screw up $80.00 worth of arrows.

Offline Blaino

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: SHOULD I CUT MY ARROWS
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 03:55:00 PM »
this is what i use to tune my bows.   http://www.acsbows.com/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderfiles/tuninglongbowsandrecurves.pdf

since you said you were new i would print it out and read it 2 or 3 times. at least thats what i did... if you draw is 30" then don't cut you arrows to 30".  i draw 30" and my arrows are 30.75" thats just me though.
"It's not the trophy, but the race. It's not the quarry,
but the chase."

Offline wildcat hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 06:04:00 PM »
Thanks, I should mention when I draw I usually shoot before I get to my anchor point because I've been shooting 28" arrows and I'm cautious about the arrow coming off the rest. With the 32" arrows I'm confident this won't happen. I'm printing out the papers as I write, thanks.

Offline bolong

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 06:35:00 PM »
If you are happy with the way they fly, it won't hurt a thing if they are 2" longer than your draw length. With your draw length, I wouldn't go less than 31". At 32" you will just have a little more weight.
bolong