3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: HI, NEW GUY HERE  (Read 703 times)

Offline PAUL A. JOHNSON

• Trad Bowhunter
HI, NEW GUY HERE
« on: July 02, 2007, 05:57:00 PM »
just wanted to introduce myself, i've been looking around here and would like some help. I'd like to start in traditional archery and would like something for bowfishing, hunting and just some target shooting. can anyone give me some ideas.

thanks
Paul

Offline Stone Knife

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: HI, NEW GUY HERE
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2007, 06:08:00 PM »
Hello Paul and welcome to Trad Gang. There is a lot of knowledge to be had on this site. I'm fairly new at trad archery myself, i have been at it for about a year now. Firs off you need to decide what kind of bow you want to shoot be it a recurve or longbow. If there is a way try to shoot both kinds before you decide on that. Next thing you might want to try is buying a good used bow of light poundage so you can work on your form without picking up bad habits. When i started i went from a 60# compound to a 50# longbow thinking that i could get by with a 10# reduction in weight. When in reality i should have started with more like 45# All these are at 28" by the way. By getting used equipment at first you will be able to find out just what type of bow suites you the best without going broke in the process. Good luck.
Proverbs 12:27
The lazy do not roast any game,
but the diligent feed on the riches of the hunt.

John 14:6

Offline whitebuffalo

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2007, 06:24:00 PM »
An Bear grizzly would do all that just fine,,I'm sure you could find someone around here that might want to part with one.
TGMM

Offline Tim Fishell

• Trad Bowhunter