3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Straightening Wood Arrows  (Read 225 times)

Offline elkhunter752

• Trad Bowhunter
Straightening Wood Arrows
« on: August 12, 2011, 05:07:00 PM »
Hello Everyone,    
Hunting season is fast approaching. I'm eagerly looking forward to chasing the elk again this season.  We have 15 monster bulls right behind the house, but it's a special draw area and I'm never lucky enough to get the tag.  

Anyways, my question is: I have been making wooden arrows for a couple years now and am happy with them, however, everytime I straighten them, I get to wondering how straight the rest of you get your wood arrows, and do you have any special tricks??  

I get them as straight as I can, but they never turn out perfect. Since wood is so forgiving, they fly fine, however, I'd still like them straighter.  Also, there are times when I straighten a shaft and accidentally bend it too far and have to bend it multiple times.  Does this significantly weaken the spine of the shaft?
Dillon Martini

Offline Charlie Lamb

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Straightening Wood Arrows
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 05:15:00 PM »
Dillon... I like to straighten my woodies with heat and hand pressure. Mostly I just sight down the shaft until I'm happy. Usually that means it spins pretty smoothly on my fingernails.

You can also roll the shaft on a flat surface and easily detect bends. Again I use heat.

Hand straightening gives you a chance to inspect the shaft and test it's resilience. Beware of shafts that over bend to easily.

If straightened before sealing, they will stay very straight for a very long time.   :thumbsup:
Hunt Sharp

Charlie

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member