3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Where do you practice?  (Read 398 times)

Offline Firemandivi

• Trad Bowhunter
Where do you practice?
« on: August 15, 2011, 12:30:00 PM »
I'm new to archery in general, but I took some advice from here and got myself a good used bow to start with.  Now I find that I can't really practice in my yard due to having neighbors too close.

I live in the Hudson Valley (southern NY), there is a 100yd range around 30mins away from my house but that would get expensive very quickly. There are some state forests near by that I believe are legal to shoot in but they are also very popular with mountain bikers and horse people.

I don't think people will believe me when I say I'm only stumping and I just see it being a problem, maybe I'm wrong, if you have any personal experience with that please let me know how it went for you.  So where do you practice and any suggestions from those without a large piece of property to shot on.  Thanks in advance.

Offline KodiakMag

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Where do you practice?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2011, 12:33:00 PM »
Buy about 9 bales of straw and make a giant wall.
55# Kodiak Mag

"Stay calm, Pick a spot."

Zwickey, the 1911 of Broadheads.
->>>-------->

Offline kenn1320

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 12:36:00 PM »
I practice in my basement after dark and over the winter. When I lived in a subdivision I used my garage as my back stop and shot from the street into my open garage. If its not against your local ordinance, and you feel you are being safe, go for it.
I'm not a "deer" hunter, I'm a bow hunter that occasionally shoots a deer.

Offline GreyGoose

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2011, 12:37:00 PM »