3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Broadheads  (Read 219 times)

Offline Bltbsf

• Trad Bowhunter
Broadheads
« on: August 29, 2011, 09:09:00 AM »
I'm new to bowhunting and thought I would try traditional equipment first.  It's getting close to season now n I'm wanting to start practicing with my broadheads.   I've been thinking about trying schwackers or rages any thoughts?

Offline Charlie Lamb

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Broadheads
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2011, 09:14:00 AM »
Personally I'd check the sponsors list for a more traditionally styled broadhead to maximize your bows efficiency.

Also you might want to check out a couple of the broadhead threads on this board now...if you really are looking to get confused.

You'd be hard pressed to do better than a Woodsman Broadhead... easy to sharpen, flies great, good blood trail, deep penetrating.
Hunt Sharp

Charlie

Offline SlowBowinMO

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2011, 09:15:00 AM »
You didn't mention your set up specs, but most traditional bows are much better served by cut on contact broadheads.  I'd suggest something like Magnus Stingers, Muzzy Phantoms, Tusker Bloody Sharps, Steel Force, something along those lines.
"Down-Log Blind at Misty River"

Offline Java Man

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2011, 09:17:00 AM »
Brian,

You need to use fixed blade broadheads (preferable cut on contact) with traditional equipment.  Trad bows generally don't have the horsepower to open an expandable BH.  Search the sponsors above, there is a huge selection of proper trad bH's available.

Good luck,

Java Man
"TGMM Family of the Bow"

Offline slivrslingr

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2011, 09:17:00 AM »