3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: skinny strings and silencers falling out - hlp  (Read 214 times)

Offline Matt Green

• Trad Bowhunter
skinny strings and silencers falling out - hlp
« on: September 03, 2011, 12:14:00 PM »
have never had trouble with silencers coming out 'til i started shooting strings with fewer strands. I typically use wool silencers - have cut them and looped them around half the strings of hte bow string - they stay OK - but still see pieces being ej3ected one each shot.
ANY ONE HAVE CREATIVE SUGGESTTIONS FOR KEEPING SILENCERS IN - ESP IN SKINNIER STRINGS???
thx in advance
"If God didn't make an outside, I wouldn't have fun." Summer - my 4 year old daughter

Online Walt Francis

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: skinny strings and silencers falling out - hlp
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 12:50:00 PM »
Tie them on.  There was Tutorial on how to do it here a couple of days back.

One question, doesn't putting extra weight on a skinny string defeat the whole idea of using one: less weight?
The broadhead used, regardless of how sharp, is nowhere as important as being able to place it in the correct spot.

Walt Francis

Regular Member of the Professional Bowhunters Society

Offline Bjorn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2011, 01:31:00 PM »
The wool strands will keep coming out for the first few shots and settle down. It depends on the number of twists, the finish on the silencers-some wool is slippery and some sticky, and whether or not you unstring your bow.

Offline Craig

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2011, 01:45:00 PM »
put them through the string and then tie them on with thread. I use the BDS strings and never had a problem with my wool silencers coming off.
Schafer Silvertip