3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Im new to wood....and have some questions  (Read 224 times)

Offline saumensch

• Trad Bowhunter
Im new to wood....and have some questions
« on: September 12, 2011, 04:50:00 AM »
Hi,

im wanna build some woodies for my next bow, but as ive got no experience with wood arrows after all i have some questions.

What is the strongest wood for making arrows? I want them as durable and robust as possible as i shoot alot of stumps and hate broken arrows    ;)  
Ive thouht about laminated birch, maple or ash but am concerned about the straightness issues.

Where to buy quality and and close matched shafts?

And finally the most popular correct arrow question:

Wich shafts would i need?
Bow will be a Thunderchild 63#@my 30";
I wanna shoot arrows with 31" length about 650 grain total weight.

Thanks alot!!!
Axel
And sometimes our dreams they float like anchors in hopeless waters oh way down here
Sometimes it seems that all that matters most are all the things that you can't keep
(William Elliot Whitmore)

Offline Ari

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Im new to wood....and have some questions
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2011, 05:31:00 AM »
If you want a tough arrow at 650 grains, Ash would be a good choice with a 125-160 grain point should hit the mark. For straightness, like all hardwoods they take a bit of work and will need touching up daily. Someone did an arrow build along with Hickory which will give you a good idea of working hardwood shafts.

A good place to get them Allegheny Mountain woods, Raptor Archery and The nocking point all sell them.

As for the last question, I would guess something spined around 70# but maybe someone with a longer draw length will have a better idea.

Offline **DONOTDELETE**

• Trad Bowhunter