3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Harry's Quest For The Ultimate Longbow /It's a Hummingbird  (Read 128 times)

Offline 2fletch

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Harry's Quest For The Ultimate Longbow /It's a Hummingbird
« on: September 13, 2011, 04:54:00 PM »
One of the regular bow shooting Tuesday night guys and a friend, Harry Angel, came over earlier today and he was all excited about a bow. He has been working with David Knight for awhile and they have created some really nice, fast and quiet primitive longbows of bamboo backed Ipe. He's been looking for a modern longbow that will match these bows in speed, accuracy, smoothness, and quietness. Now he thinks that he has it.

To quote him "I have been shooting primitive bows for 2 years bcause I could not find a modern longbow that was as smooth and quite until now".
He had just returned from spending the second of two days with Ben Graham of Hummingbird Bows and was quite pleased with the 62" 3 piece takedown longbow which was 41# @ 28" that Ben had made for him. Harry said that "this bow is extremely smooth and quiet and has the best cast with heavy arrows of any bow that I have ever shot."
Ben had made a few changes in the bow and they were obviously to Harry's satisfaction. He said "I am convinced it is a winner".

Of course I shot the bow and had to agree with Harry, Ben had it right. The bow was smooth, quiet, fast, and it was forgiving. I shot three different groups of arrows through it (GT  15-35, 35-55, and 55-75s. The range was from 380 gr. to 506 gr.) All three groups flew well and impacted close to the target centers.