3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: The Airport Antelope  (Read 664 times)

Offline Randy Morin

• Trad Bowhunter
The Airport Antelope
« on: September 15, 2011, 01:45:00 PM »
Well I got my first Antelope yesterday so I thought I'd share a quick story and some pics.

I have been chasing these animals for a quite a few years with nothing to show for my effort but a sun tan and some marginal frustration coping skills.    :banghead:    

It feels good to get even finally.

From scouting while hunting the last few years I had come up with the plan that put this Goat on the ground. I had noticed the Antelope liked to both hang out and travel through an area where a few small trees stood.  There daily travel routinely put them in close proximity to a particular tree.  Somedays a large herd would loaf for hours near (within 100-200 yards) this tree and a very popular fence crossing going and coming form the distant alfalfa was also close to this tree.  Tempted by the chance to get a close shot at a calm goat I decided to give the treestand a shot.  Sitting on water in a ground blind is not real productive in this area as there are multiple irrigation canals running through this whole valley.

I hiked to the tree and got my Lone Wolf set up easily.  I only needed two tree sticks and the base of my stand was only 8 ft off the ground.  Perfect for Antelope which are known for not looking up.