3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I'm experimenting with different fletching  (Read 150 times)

Offline Pokerdaddy

• Trad Bowhunter
I'm experimenting with different fletching
« on: September 16, 2011, 10:18:00 PM »
I'm still pretty new to fletching, but having alot of fun and learning.  I just recently finished up three batches to compare and contrast. 5" LW shields, 4" LW parabolics, and 5.5" LW bananas (the bananas were kindly given by member Huntschool...thanks Bruce!)

I've been playing around with these six arrows in my quiver for a couple of days.  The shields and bananas are on GT Trad 3555's with 175gns up front (total weight roughly 465gns) and the paras are on Beman MFX Classic 500's, also with 175 up front (total weight 475gns).  I've also been playing around with cock feather in and cock feather out.

I know for better testing I should have the paras on GT's as well, but I've really been wanting to try out the Bemans as member David Janssen had let me try out his and I loved the way they fly for me.

This testing is by no means super scientific, I just wanted to mix these six arrows into a few shooting sessions and see if any noticable differences (for me) emerged.  Bow used was a 1970 Bear Kodiak Hunter 50@28 with a B-50 string, one pair of cat whiskers and felt pads on the limbs.  Range was 15 yards.