3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Broadhead alignment.  (Read 290 times)

Online wood carver 2

• Trad Bowhunter
Broadhead alignment.
« on: September 30, 2011, 04:51:00 PM »
I don't know if this belongs here. I just wanted an opinion or two on how to align two blade broadheads. In line with the cock feather or 90 degrees to the cock feather? Or does it even matter? My arrows are straight fletched. Also, when using carbon shafts with inserts, can I warm the insert with hot water to soften the glue enough to turn it?
Any help is much appreciated as I'm new to trad archery.
Dave.
" Vegetarian" another word for bad hunter.

Offline JimB

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Broadhead alignment.
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2011, 05:07:00 PM »
I doubt if it matters.Some mount them horizontally,some vertical.When I started,the theory was,the horizontal blade affected things less when going through paradox.I still mount mine that way because I'm used to that "sight picture" for lack of a better term.

Hot water isn't enough heat to soften epoxies.I don't like heating carbons at all.The best way for me,is get it done when gluing in the insert OR use a glue in broadhead with adapter and line up the blades when screwed into the shaft and gluing to the adapter.

Offline Rob W.

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2011, 05:11:00 PM »
Turn them til they look the best in you sight picture when drawn. I have noticed no difference in flight. Mine are diagonal.

Rob
This stuff ain't no rocket surgery science!

Online wood carver 2

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2011, 05:15:00 PM »