3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How Long Shooting Before You Hunt?  (Read 505 times)

Offline gonzoso

• Trad Bowhunter
How Long Shooting Before You Hunt?
« on: October 03, 2011, 11:22:00 PM »
I've been shooting compound bows for about 5 years.  I am very deadly with a wheeled bow out to 40 yards.

About a month ago I got a recurve and have been practicing daily and I can easily get within a dinner plate out to 20 yards, and I could probably even take a deer out to 30 although I would not attempt it.  My groups are usually about 4-5" at 10, 6-8" at 20 yards shooting a 6-7 shot group.

Today I had the most amazing hunting experience of my life.  I spotted some doe and a spike about 50 yards away.  I watched them and knowing the local land I estimated where they were heading.

I stalked over to a likely spot and propped myself against some logs leaning against a tree.  As the deer approached I lay dead still, fearing to blink even.  When the doe got about 15 yards away she stopped and stared at me for 5 minutes, which seemed like 4 hours.   I didn't move and she moved on.  As he head went behind a tree I moved my arm to brace myself.  Then a minute or two later I was out of sight for 3-4 seconds and I silently stood up and drew.  At this point she was 18-20 yards away when she came out from behind the tree.

I aimed a little low, hoping to perforate the heart and for a fast and humane kill. I was dead in line horizontally but my height was a little off and I shot just under her vitals.  2-3 inches up and it would have been perfect.