3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Broadheads  (Read 497 times)

Offline Scattergun2570

• Trad Bowhunter
Broadheads
« on: November 04, 2011, 04:43:00 PM »
I am very new to traditional..so,I would like to know what type and brand of broadheads are used. I am most likely going to be using a 45lb Martin Savannah for Whitetails. I assume you guys only use cut on contact fixed blade style heads. So..lets hear the suggestions..maybe some arrow suggestions also?

Offline David Yukon

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Broadheads
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2011, 06:47:00 PM »
I shoot Surewood arrows, tiped with Aboyer brown bear 175gr... I also use some Grizzly stick carbon shaft, but will switch to 100% surewood, they are heavy and shoot great!! there is so many different good BH on the market, 2 blades, 3 blades, 4 blades, screw on, glue on, vented, unvented, single bevele, double bevel...

It look like the trend is in 2 blades BH, zweyky is popular, aboyer and many others. I think the 3 blades Woodsman, is an other popular one...

No mather what you choose, get them real sharp and place it where it count!!

Good luck

Offline Bjorn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2011, 06:57:00 PM »
STOS and Zwickey are popular; with that bow and whitetails 2 blade is a good choice.

Offline MikeW

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2011, 06:59:00 PM »
Basically what David said, I like the Surewoods also for woodies, they are top of the line wood arrows. For carbons I like the Beman MFX. For heads there are just too many good ones out there.

I've been a STOS fan myself for years. Of the new ones out there Abowery,Tuffhead and VAP are all excellent choices and Zwickey has been killing for years and years.