3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Completely Frustrated with Sharpening  (Read 1485 times)

Offline richter

• Trad Bowhunter
Completely Frustrated with Sharpening
« on: November 07, 2011, 11:11:00 AM »
Hi Folks. I have had it with trying to sharpen some Magnus Stingers. I am new to Trad this fall and prior this season, during my 23 years with training wheels, I either shot mechanicals or just bought new heads after each kill. With my new equipment I am practicing with my broadheads much more and I want to try sharpening and re-using the heads. I have watched all the videos and read countless threads that I have found through the search function. At first I tried using stones and steels. My dad was a ham boner for 30+ years and he provided me with numerous stones and steels, including some ceramic sticks. With this equipment I can raise a burr, but as I progress to finer stones to remove the burr I seem to lose any edge I started. I end up duller than when I started. next I tried a file first and then going to stones with teh same results. So yesterday I decide to come into my work and try using our grinding wheels and sanders. I work for a manufacturing company and in our tool room we have countless grinders and belt sanders in every grit imaginable. After 45 minutes on one head, raising a burr only to lose the edge on the finer wheels and buffing wheel I decided to quit before I blew a gasket. What am I doing wrong? I suspect that it has something to do with my inabaility to hold a consistent angle, but I'm not sure. I am considering switching to a three blade like a woodsmen in the hopes that I can keep a consistent angle just by laying them flat on a file or stone. Do you think this sounds like a better plan for someone with my grotesqu