3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Still Hunt or Walk to Hunt Texas Hogs??  (Read 158 times)

Offline Nala

• Trad Bowhunter
Still Hunt or Walk to Hunt Texas Hogs??
« on: November 18, 2011, 12:49:00 AM »
Hey all,

I am now a new resident of Texas.  I like it here.  I am also looking forward to hog hunting.  I am just north of Houston and looking for places to hunt.  The problem is that I have to wait 6 months to be able to get my IN-STATE hunting license.  That gives me time to fine tune my shooting and work on other things.

One of the things I would like to ask you all that hunt Texas hogs, or hogs anywhere, is what technique you use.  For this argument lets assume there are NO FEEDERS where you are hunting.  Do you set up in a concealed spot, or use a blind, near an area with great sign or a water source or do you walk around looking for sign trying to be quiet as possible and hope you come upon a hog or group of hogs and then stalk in for a shot?

The few times I have hunted hogs in Florida I sat in a concealed spot and waited on them.  I have never seen one.  Since I am scared of tree stands, that is also the way I would hunt deer, from the ground, concealed.  In 3 years of hunting I never got off a shot, but seen several deer.  That was ok for me.  I just enjoyed being there with my friends and taking it all in.

I want to be more productive at this Texas hog hunting.  I want to put some on the ground and experience what it's like to take a big game animal with my bows.  I get excited just thinking about it.