3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: First Trad Harvest..... Long Story  (Read 549 times)

Offline cp55002

• Trad Bowhunter
First Trad Harvest..... Long Story
« on: November 20, 2011, 06:16:00 PM »
Hello Everyone, Its been probably close to two years since I posted last, I was debating buying a stick bow, Well I did and I managed to get my first deer ever. I have learned alot from this site. Thank you all. Let me start by giving you some background. I started shooting archery at age 5, with my brother who is a year and half younger. My father started us off shooting in the backyard at hay bales, my brother and I shot a lot as young kids together we shot traditional bows. My dad never hunted. When I turned 13 I switched to the compound and my brother stuck with the trad. At age 15 my whole family moved to Ft. Lauderdale, FL. There was no place to shoot and at that age we were getting into other things. Neither of us shot much for 4 or 5 years. At age 18 my brother and I took a hunters safety course in the hopes we would be able to do some hunting when I went to college in Tallahassee Fl. Well I was there for a year and that was the first time hunting. My brother would make the long drive up for a long weekend and we started off hunting squirrels with the 22. and 12 gauge,  it was a lot of fun we bagged a bunch of them and cooked them up for dinner usually. Slowly I got into the deer end of hunting, my brother made a trip up and we tried to hunt deer. We learned a lot about it. I never got close enough to shoot at any while I was in Florida. After a year at FSU I moved back to Wrentham Ma, and started school for auto mechanics. I hunted Southern RI for a year and saw exactly 1 deer that year. The next year I hunted state property in Wrentham an