3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What to shoot first?  (Read 408 times)

Offline bolo7735

• Trad Bowhunter
What to shoot first?
« on: December 16, 2011, 11:39:00 AM »
This month deer hunt, the outfitter said I can take one buck, 2 does, and all the hogs I want. My questions, what should I shoot since it is my first time deer hunting let alone I am doing it with a longbow? All my friends said shoot the buck first then does. Also, should I shoot any hogs, if I do will that spook any buck or does that might come later?

Offline xtrema312

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What to shoot first?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2011, 11:59:00 AM »
What is it you want to shoot?  Are you prepared to shoot nothing to shoot what you really are after?  If you have hunted hogs and really want a deer, I would say shoot a deer and hold off on the hogs.  Personally it would depend a lot on where I was hunting, and what kind of buck would most likely be seen.  I can get selective if there are some nice buck routinely in the area.  Not much of a worry where I hunt, but on a guided hunting that could be very different.  Most time when hunting I would shoot them in the following order:

First thing that shows up
Second thing that shows up
Third thing that shows up
And so on

Oh sure I would be holding out for a big buck to show, but I am a meat hunter at heart and have a hard time not dropping the string when given a good shot opportunity.
1 Timothy 4:4(NKJV)
For every creature of God is good, and nothing is to be refused if it is received with thanksgiving.

Firefly Long Bow  James 4:14
60" MOAB 54@29 James 1:17

Michigan Longbow Association

Offline centaur

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2011, 12:02:00 PM »