3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: My First Bow Recurve?  (Read 181 times)

Offline PHONEMANINDIANA

• Trad Bowhunter
My First Bow Recurve?
« on: December 21, 2011, 07:59:00 PM »
Well I am new to TradGang and love what I have seen so far. I am trying to get my first Traditional bow. I will be going to the Kalamazoo expo at the end of January but I don't know where to start.

I have hunted with my compound for 10 years now. I have a 31" draw length and pull 60#. I took my first deer ever this season. Yes 10 seAsons to get my first. But I refused to use a gun

I am looking for all advice on length of bow and draw weight.

I really like Morrison ILF metal and wood risers. I was thinking about starting out with a low weight to develop the best form and then move up. I thought ILF limbs would be the best way to do this. What weight is a good start? What is a good price point to spend starting out?

Looking forward to getting started on this great adventure.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Offline maineac

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: My First Bow Recurve?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 08:14:00 PM »
Sounds like you have a plan.  I think going to Kalamazoo and trying a bunch of bows will be your best bet.  The ILF riser will probably match what you are used to the best, but you might find you like a a different grip style or a wood riser.  So many options, trying as many variations as possible will not only be fun, but informative.  Good luck on the journey, and congrats on your first deer.
The season gave him perfect mornings, hunter's moons and fields of freedom found only by walking them with a predator's stride.
                                                              Robert Holthouser

Offline Night Wing