3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: beginner needs help with arrows  (Read 157 times)

Offline rangeguy7

• Trad Bowhunter
beginner needs help with arrows
« on: December 27, 2011, 08:50:00 PM »
Hello All,  

I am brand new to traditional archery and am looking for some advice.  I have a samick sage recurve that is 45pounds at 28" and 62 inches long.  My draw length is 28".  A friend gave me a 31" Beeman ICS Hunter 340 arrow with a 145gr tip just to test out the bow.  It shoots a bit unstable. To save some time and money going through lots of arrows and tips; does anybody have a tested arrow set up that works well with this bow?  Any help will appreciated.  thank you.

Online rastaman

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: beginner needs help with arrows
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2011, 08:56:00 PM »
That arrow is way too stiff.  You need something in the 500 spine with more point weight.  i don't have any experience with Beemans so maybe some of those guys/gals will jump in.  i use GT 3555 with my 47lb ish longbow with 175grain tip. My drawlength is 27inches on a good day and my arrows are cut 29 inches long to give you a little reference point.
Welcome to Tradgang!   :wavey:
TGMM Family of the Bow

:archer:                                               

Randy Keene
"Life is precious and so are you."  Marley Keene

Offline Three Finger

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2011, 09:01:00 PM »
I have a 48# @28 recurve and at my 27in draw its about 45#. I shoot a easton 2016 with 175g point. They are pretty cheap and shoot strait. I would think that would be a good starter arrow.
You could go with a 2013 with 125g. That may work also.
US Army AIRBORNE 95-98
Woodland Hunter 58"48#@28
Hoyt Dorado 55#@28

Online The Whittler